The Sports Turf Association, WA Incorporated, is a not-for-profit association, managed by a dedicated committee of volunteers representing all persons working in the turf industry of WA. The STA (WA) can trace it’s establishment in Western Australia to 1946, when an association of Grounds Curators and like minded turf managers regularly met at the WACA ground to discuss the development of quality sports turf surfaces in and about post war Perth.

From those humble beginnings, the Grounds Managers Association of WA (GMA) was established in the early 1980’s and primarily included Turf Managers and Grounds Maintenance personnel from the majority of Perth’s leading Sports Turf Facilities and Private Schools. Members would meet regularly throughout the year for sponsored field days and social gatherings.

In July 2000 the GMA members voted to become an incorporated association tied nationally with the Turf Grass Associations of Australia. Richard Winter, then Head Curator of wickets at the WACA ground became the inaugural President for the TGAA(WA) Inc.

At the August 2012 Annual General Meeting, following consultation with fellow Turf Grass Associations from the other states and territories in Australia, the TGAA(WA) members voted to once again change the association’s name, becoming the Sports Turf Association (WA) Incorporated.

The current Western Australian executive committee has been unanimously re-elected to their roles since 2009.
President: Mr Tony Guy (All Saints’ College)
Vice President/Treasurer: Mr Hugh Gardner (City of Subiaco)
Secretary: Mr Clint Betts (Baileys Fertilisers)
The 2016 STA(WA) membership currently stands as 171 financial members with the potential to more than double by the year 2020.